44. Manual Merge

Manual Merging is a new feature in Opkey that will now allow the users to merge the files and folders of the same as well as other domains effortlessly. You’ll now be able to select the project which can be of the same domain as well as for a different domain and provide the credentials such as Username, Password, and Project, making use of which the merging of files can be done. 

With this feature, you’ll now be able to resolve the conflicts if any during syncing of the files from one single window of the Merging feature, instead of going back and forth to the source and destination folder. It will now be convenient for you to resolve the requirements according to the flow in the current scenario. 

The Merging lets you merge the files and data sources i.e Object Repository, Global Data Repository, Function Library, Test Cases or Business Components, Business Processes, Test Cases, and Jobs. You can perform the merging on the step level of Function Library and Test Case. It can be done for the Input and Output Parameters and for the Custom Keywords.

Manual merging feature is implemented for the files and folders level. You’ll now be able to right-click on the desired files or folders and select the option of Manual Merge to proceed to merge the files.

Manual Merge for Folders in the Project Workspace

Manual Merge for Artifacts in the Project Workspace

If you need to merge an artifact from one domain to another or within the same domain, you need to click on the Manual Merge button.

To do so, you need to right-click on the artifact or folder. You’ll be able to view the option of Manual Merge.

Click on the Manual Merge button. You’ll be able to view a window as shown in the image below.

Here you’ll be required to provide the details of:

Domain

User Name

Password

Select Project

You’ll have to select either the same domain or a different domain.

Once you fill-up the required credentials you’ll have to proceed by clicking on the Merge button.

It will start the process and ask for the Project Password.

You’ll have to proceed now by providing the Password.

If the project at the source file has encrypted data, the window will display the fields to provide the encryption details of only the source file, and if the project at the destination file has encrypted data a window will open up to add encryption details too.

Projects at the source file with encrypted data will display a window asking for encryption details of only the source file. Similarly, projects at the destination file with encrypted data will display a window asking for encryption details of only the destination file. 

If the project present on both the source and the destination has encrypted data, the field will display the column to provide details for both the source and the destination.

Permission Level Conflicts

Manual Merge provides the following options to proceed with when faced with files or folder-related permissions that have been applied to them.

  1. S Restricted - This restricts the non-admin users to proceed with merging of those  files to the destination that they are restricted from. 
  1. Locked - When the same file at the destination is in unsaved mode, it will not allow to continue merging of the files to avoid disrupting the data. 

  1. S. Locked-  While trying to merge the files at the destination in the Freezed state, i.e no editing is possible when it is switched to Approved mode and it changes to freezed state, you’ll be displayed with an error  message on the merging window. User will have to change the artifact at the destination to the Draft mode to make necessary changes and then proceed with the merging process.
  1. Rename - When one file with same name and same path exists both at source and at destination for example - 

At Source – Folder 1 > Login(Function Library)

At Destination – Folder 1 > Login(Test Case) 

The artifacts are different but path and folder name is same. In this scenario you’ll have to rename the file at the source to merge it at the destination.

An already existing file at the destination with the same name will restrict the user at the source to proceed with merging. You’ll have to rename the file at the source to merge it at the destination.

You’ll have have to resolve these conflicts when faced with any of them by clicking on the Back button.

Once these conflicts are taken care of, you’ll be able to proceed ahead with the Resolve button. 

On providing the details of both the source and the destination, it will begin the process and open a window of Manual Merge which will have artifacts of both sides.

You can proceed to merge the folders and artifacts from both Opkey Web and Opkey Surge by clicking on the toggle button. 

In Opkey Web you’ll be able to merge and auto-merge only Function Library and Test cases. Whereas in Opkey surge you’ll be able to merge and auto-merge only the Business Components.

In this window towards the right-hand corner, three buttons are present. Let us discuss them.

Merge - This will let you do the merging manually by selecting each file.

Auto merge - This will let you do the merging of all the files automatically with just the click of a button.

Finish - This will simply finish the task of merging the selected artifacts and folders. 

The files are merged from the source to the destination effortlessly at the initial stage. However, while trying to merge the files post certain changes at the source, will have to be merged with respect to different parameters. It will identify the artifact with the changes that need to be merged.

Once you click the Merge button post changes on the artifact, you’ll be directed to a new window that will allow you to merge on the:

  •  Step Data
  • Input Parameter
  • Output Parameter
  • Custom keywords

This page contains three windows, namely:

Source File

Destination File

Merged Artifact Preview

For the Step Data, you can Merge with the four available options:

  1. Use Source File - With this option, you can merge all the files of the source to the destination with the assigned input and output parameters. If the files are not compatible and can’t be moved to the destination, a message will be displayed about the issue in the bottom right-hand corner.

It can add and modify files at the destination, but if any files are required to be deleted at the destination to move the source file to that location, it may or may not perform the merging functionality in such a scenario. For such cases, you’ll have to select another option.

  1. Use Destination File- This option will let you keep all the files available at the destination. 

  1. Auto Merge - This option will auto-merge the files on its own, considering the requirement of whether to choose the Use Source file option or Use destination file option to merge the required files.  

  1. Merge- This option allows you to merge the files step by step. 

If you select  Use this Step option, you need to select one step at the Source and one step at the destination. This will move the selected step from the source to the destination by replacing the existing step present there. 

This action will remove the existing file at the destination and replace it with the file from the source.

You can also preview the moved file in the Merged Artifact Preview area, located below.

Use Both Step - This is further divided into two substeps:

Source Step First - This option lets you keep the Source Step first at the destination. 

You can also preview this on the Merged Artifact Preview field.

Destination Step First  - This option lets you keep the Destination Step first at the destination. 

You can have a preview of this in the Merged Artifact Preview field.

If the available steps at the destination folder can’t be deleted, you can uncheck that particular step while execution.

This option will let you keep both steps at the destination

Reset - This option lets you reset the entire action that has been performed, to its original form.

Once you finalize what steps will be merged post checking the preview, you can click on Resolve

This will now proceed to Merge the files and will show a green tick, once it is completed as shown in the image below.

The merged file will now be visible on the selected Project on the chosen domain.

For merging the Input Parameter, Output Parameter and Custom Keywords, same steps wil be followed and with the final Resolve button, the files gets merged.

Article

No items found.